Inverness: Isle of Skye and Eilean Donan Castle Day Trip
★ 4.8 · 5,019 reviews
- Twelve hours, Old Man of Storr photo stop
- Lunch stop in Portree
- Bestseller
- Free cancellation
The loch on the road west
A Loch Ness tour from Inverness, on this site, is the first stretch of a long day to the Isle of Skye. Five trips leave the city and all five run along the loch: a coffee break at Invermoriston, a 10-minute photo stop, or Urquhart Castle seen from afar. Day trips start at $91 per person. Below: where each one stops, what the price covers and which to book.

Quick answer
The short answer. If you want the loch and the Isle of Skye in one booking, take a Loch Ness tour from Inverness that carries on west: $91, 12 hours, a break at Invermoriston on the shore, then Eilean Donan, Portree and the Old Man of Storr. 5,019 reviewers rate it 4.8. There is no Loch Ness cruise among the listings here.
How the loch fits the day
Where the loch sits in a 12-hour day.
Loch Ness lies on the road from Inverness towards the west coast, so the trips to Skye meet it first. The opening part of the day works like a short Inverness to Loch Ness tour: the coach heads south out of the city and follows the shore. Then the loch falls behind, and the day belongs to Eilean Donan Castle, the Skye Bridge and the island.
So expect a Loch Ness day trip from Inverness to give the loch minutes rather than hours. There is no stand-alone Inverness Loch Ness tour among the listings, and no cruise you can book by itself. What you get instead is the loch plus a full day on Skye for one price. Sarah from New Zealand, on the $91 day: «We had enough time at each stop and found it to be an excellent day out.»
Trip by trip
How each Loch Ness tour from Inverness spends its time by the water, from the lowest price up.
From Railway Terrace by air-conditioned bus along the shores of Loch Ness to Invermoriston, for a short break: a coffee and scenic photos.
From Ardross Street along the Great Glen Fault Line. The itinerary marks Loch Ness as «pass by», with Urquhart Castle admired from afar. The route back differs from the morning.
From opposite the Victorian Market, 15 Union Street. A 10-minute photo stop at the loch, and a day told through legends, folklore, rival clans and a fugitive prince.
From 25 Union Street, 40 minutes by coach to a 10-minute photo stop at Loch Ness; the description adds a drive along its shores on the way back.
The loch comes at the end: you return via Fort Augustus, at the foot of Loch Ness, with views of the loch.
By the water
Three frames from the listing photos: the ruin across the loch, and the castle that follows it on a Loch Ness tour from Inverness.
The square tower and broken walls on a point over the water, with a path curving down across the lawn.
Visitors on a railed balcony of the stone tower. None of the day trips goes in.
The arched stone bridge runs out to the castle on its rocky island.
Every trip, current fare
Every Loch Ness tour from Inverness on this site, plus our top pick from Edinburgh. Prices are per person, and lunch is included on none of them.
| Trip | Price | Price is for | Length | At Loch Ness | What the price covers | Where it starts | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skye and Eilean Donan day | $91 | per person | 12 hours | Coffee break at Invermoriston | Air-conditioned bus and guide; Eilean Donan, Portree, Old Man of Storr | Railway Terrace | 4.8 · 5,019 |
| Castle tour, up to 16 | $94 | per person | 12 hours | Drive past; Urquhart from afar | Guide; Eilean Donan, Trotternish, Portree; back around 20:00 | Ardross Street, by the cathedral | 4.9 · 1,809 |
| Fairy Pools day | $105 | per person | 12 hours | Photo stop, 10 minutes | Air-conditioned vehicle, driver-guide; 90 minutes at the Fairy Pools | 25 Union Street | 4.7 · 1,278 |
| Myths and legends day | $94 | per person | 12 hours | Photo stop, 10 minutes | Guide and audio guide; Eilean Donan entry at your own expense | 15 Union Street | 4.7 · 180 |
| Two days on Skye | $224 | per person | 2 days | Views from Fort Augustus, day two | Driver guide; Fairy Pools hike. Whether the night is in the price: not stated | Railway Terrace | 4.8 · 513 |
| Three days from Edinburgh, our top pick | $304 | per person | 3 days | Lunch at Fort Augustus, day three | Two nights in Portree; Glencoe. Whether rooms are in the price: not stated | Castle Terrace, Edinburgh, 9:00 | 4.8 · 1,239 |
The price
Four one-day fares side by side, then the longer trips.
Day trips start at $91 per person, for the Skye and Eilean Donan day with the break at Invermoriston. That Inverness day trip also has the most reviews of any trip on this site: 5,019, at 4.8. The castle tour and the legends day cost $94 each, the Fairy Pools day $105. All four last 12 hours, so the difference is in the stops.
The castle tour adds a limit of 16 participants and the highest rating of the four, 4.9 from 1,809 reviews. The Fairy Pools day buys 90 minutes at the pools. Two days from Inverness cost $224, and our top pick, three days from Edinburgh, $304: compare those with the number of days in mind.
Coming from further south
Starting in Edinburgh or Glasgow? The longer tours reach the loch too, and some offer what the day trips do not: time on the water.
Our top pick, and the Glasgow version at the same price, stop for lunch at Fort Augustus on day three, with views of Loch Ness.
The three-day tour via Glenfinnan offers an optional boat cruise. Accommodation is not included.
A combined cruise and Urquhart Castle visit at extra cost, in summer only; in winter only the cruise might take place.
The four-day trip sleeps at Fort Augustus, with an optional cruise subject to availability.
Who it suits
Four honest tests before you book a Loch Ness tour from Inverness.
One booking covers the loch, Eilean Donan and the island. Eva from the United Kingdom: «I went on my own, valued my own privacy but at the same time enjoyed not having to plan anything…»
It is the only Inverness day tour here with a stated limit: up to 16 participants.
The loch gets a short break, a 10-minute photo stop or a view from the coach.
The two-day trip adds a hike to the Fairy Pools. Susana from the United States: «We had a good amount of time to explore the sites visited.»
Choosing
Same loch, different days: pick by what comes after it.
Choose by what follows the loch: each day gives the water a short time. For the lowest fare and the most reviews, take the $91 day. Christine from France: «The tour was very well paced, with enough time at each stop while keeping the day moving smoothly.»
For a capped group and a 4.9 rating, book the castle tour. For the Fairy Pools, the $105 day. For stories, or an audio guide in French, Spanish, Italian, Chinese or Portuguese, the legends day at $94; bring your own headset.
Before you book
A few minutes on the listing make any Loch Ness tour from Inverness easier on the day.
Railway Terrace, Ardross Street or Union Street: each trip has its own. There is no hotel pickup.
Lunch is not included, and the listings do not say who pays for the coffee.
No listing says a castle ticket is included. On the legends day, Eilean Donan is at your own expense.
Each of the five offers free cancellation; the deadline differs by trip. The four day trips also let you reserve now and pay later.
Our verdict
Book a Loch Ness tour from Inverness that carries on to Skye. For $91 you get the shore of the loch, a break at Invermoriston, Eilean Donan and a long day on the island, rated 4.8 by 5,019 reviewers.
For a smaller group, take the castle tour at $94, the Loch Ness tour from Inverness capped at 16. For time on the water, look at the three-day tours with an optional cruise.
Book direct
The four 12-hour days. All of them run along Loch Ness on the way to Skye.
★ 4.8 · 5,019 reviews
★ 4.9 · 1,809 reviews
★ 4.7 · 1,278 reviews
★ 4.7 · 180 reviews
Common questions
It depends on the trip: Railway Terrace for the $91 day and the two-day trip, Ardross Street by the cathedral for the castle tour, 25 Union Street for the Fairy Pools day, and opposite the Victorian Market at 15 Union Street for the legends day. None includes hotel pickup.
No. Lunch is not included on any trip on this site. The day trips stop in Portree for lunch, so bring money for food and drinks.
No. The castle tour points it out from afar, and no day trip goes inside. Two three-day tours offer a boat to Urquhart: from Edinburgh at extra cost, summer only, and from Glasgow as an option that may not run in winter.
Only the castle tour gives a time: approximately 20:00. The Fairy Pools day calls its return time approximate, so do not book onward connections for the same evening.
Yes, from a minimum age that differs by trip: 3 on the Fairy Pools day, 4 on the $91 day and the two-day trip, 5 on the castle tour. The legends day does not state an age.
Yes. Each Loch Ness tour from Inverness on this site offers free cancellation, but the deadline depends on the trip, so check it on the listing before you pay.
Go deeper
Four long days and one two-day trip from the Highland capital, side by side.
Eilean DonanThe castle on its island at the head of Loch Duich, and the tours that stop there.
Fairy PoolsThe walk to the pools, and which tours give you time there.
Two daysA night on the island: what the second day adds.
From EdinburghThree- and four-day tours from the capital: route, nights and what the price covers.